opkblind.blogg.se

Wiring a ceiling fan with light when all wires are black
Wiring a ceiling fan with light when all wires are black













Electricity is dangerous and can cause personal injury or DEATH as well as other property loss or damage if not used or constructed properly. This site is meant for informational purposes only. *You will lose functionality of controlling the light from the remote if you follow the steps in this blog. Without losing the functionality of the switches or fan speed options! If you couldn’t tell… Here’s how I installed a ceiling fan with a remote to two wall switches.

  • “But you can mount the remote to the wall and use it like a wall switch” HAHAHAHA ABSOLUTELY NOT.
  • I still don’t have a solve for this without losing all functionality of different fan settings but it’s still a reason why fans with remotes suck.
  • The receivers that are wired to the actual fan are so big and bulky, and you’re expected to stuff that along with all the wires up into the ceiling box.
  • It has to have keyless unlock and keyless start. I won’t even buy a car if it means I have to dig through my purse to find the keys.

    wiring a ceiling fan with light when all wires are black

    I can’t imagine a life where I always know where the remote is.

  • You have to have the remote to change the settings.
  • The remote receiver in the fan unit, slows the electricity down just enough for you to notice it and hate it.
  • There’s a 3 second delay when turning on the light- even if it was the last setting.
  • I don’t trust the process of getting a replacement remote while I live without a light in my bedroom for a month. Which means, if Mark throws the remote in the wash with our sheets (like he did with our TV remote) then whatever setting was last on, will be the permanent setting.
  • If you lose the remote, you won’t be able to change the settings on the fixture.
  • In an effort to not drone on about why these remotes suck, I’ll sum it up here: 5 reasons why ceiling fans with remotes are the worst: It’s just power- and whatever settings the fixture was last on, will kick on. If installed according to the directions, the fan can be attached to one wall switch that will function as one thing- power on/off. You have to use these remotes to even use the basic functionality. But I hate the fact that because of all these special features, the fans come with remotes. Almost all the fan’s I’ve bought have different fan speeds, a dimmable light, timers, special schedules etc. Most fans these days have so much more function than just on/off. I love the dual functionality, being able to run the fan while watching a movie, and obviously using the light without the fan turning on during the winter! I need to be able to install my ceiling fan to two wall switches. Most are hardwired to two separate wall switches- one for the light and one for the fan. Something I love about our house is that we have ceiling fans in a lot of our rooms. Nothing is as frustrating as my attempt to replace all the white and gold fans in my 90’s home.















    Wiring a ceiling fan with light when all wires are black